On Air Now

Upcoming Shows

Program Schedule »


Listen Live Now » 1230 AM Sioux Falls, SD 98.1 FM Sioux Falls, SD


Current Conditions(Sioux Falls,SD 57104)

More Weather »
76° Feels Like: 76°
Wind: SSE 18 mph Past 24 hrs - Precip: 0”
Current Radar for Zip


Mostly Sunny 74°


Mostly Clear 58°


AM Clouds/PM Sun 86°


State Awards $227,000 To 19 Rural Hospitals


PIERRE, S.D.(KELO-AM)  – Nineteen rural hospitals in South Dakota will receive a total of $227,409 in federal funding for projects to improve patient safety and access, reduce medication errors, reduce hospital readmissions and improve operations.

 The federal Medicare Rural Hospital Flexibility Program funding comes through the South Dakota Department of Health. Over the last 13 years, rural hospitals in South Dakota have received more than $4,356,000 in direct awards through the program.

 Hospitals must be Medicare-certified as critical access to be eligible for the funds. Critical access hospitals receive a higher Medicare reimbursement rate and are eligible for federal funding for improvement projects. There are currently 38 critical access hospitals in South Dakota.

 “This funding helps rural hospitals make direct, positive impacts on patient care and health outcomes,” said Doneen Hollingsworth, Secretary of Health. “It’s an important tool for critical access hospitals working so hard to maintain essential health care services in our rural areas.”

 Hollingsworth noted that sustaining essential healthcare services in rural and underserved areas is a key objective of the department’s 2020 initiative.

 Hospitals receiving Medicare Rural Hospital Flexibility Program direct awards are listed below.



Burke, Community Memorial Hospital


Chamberlain, Sanford Chamberlain Medical Center


Clear Lake, Sanford Clear Lake Medical Center


Custer, Custer Regional Hospital (joint with Lead-Deadwood Regional Hospital and Sturgis Regional Hospital)


Eureka, Community Hospital


Flandreau, Avera Flandreau Hospital (joint with MilbankArea Hospital/Avera Health, Avera Hand County Memorial Hospital in Miller, and Avera Dells Area Hospital in Dell Rapids)


Gregory, Avera Gregory Hospital


Hot Springs, Fall River Health Services


Huron, Huron Regional Medical Center


Lead-Deadwood, Lead-Deadwood Regional Hospital


Madison, Madison Community Hospital


Mobridge, Mobridge Regional Hospital


Philip, Philip Health Services


Platte, Platte Health Center/Avera


Sisseton, Coteau des Prairies Hospital


Vermillion, Sanford Vermillion Medical Center


Viborg, Pioneer Memorial Hospital


Webster, Sanford Webster Medical Center


Winner, Winner Regional Hospital



-- 30 –